How do I load a new scene with Phaser 3 and WebPack?

mhcdotcom

Hey Folks,

I hope you can help. I am fairly new to Phaser 3 and am currently working on a platformer where my character can run, jump and collect collectibles. My game is modularised through WebPack everything else is plain JS along with the Phaser 3 framework. 
I am using Tiled where I export my levels as json files and the initial level loads perfectly with all collision tiles in place and working as expected.

I've hit a road block with loading/starting new levels. I'll try and explain with my code to clarify. I've reduce the code significantly to make it easier to read.  

main.js: Entry file

// Main.js
import 'phaser';

import { Cave } from 'scenes/cave';
import { Playground } from 'scenes/playground';

var config = {...},
  scene: [Cave,Playground]
};
var game = new Phaser.Game(config);

Cave.js. For the sake of conciseness, I've placed the this.scene.start in the update function so the new scene initialisation happens immediately.
MapSetup function is further down.

// Cave.js
import 'phaser';
import MapSetup from 'modules/map-setup.js';
import CollectibleSetup from 'modules/collectible-setup.js';

const mapSetup = new MapSetup();
const collectibleSetup = new CollectibleSetup();

export class Cave extends Phaser.Scene {

constructor () {super('Cave')}

preload() {
    this.load.tilemapTiledJSON('map', 'assets/levels/cave/cave.json');// map made with Tiled in JSON format
    this.load.spritesheet('cave', 'assets/levels/cave/cave.png', {frameWidth: 64, frameHeight: 64});// tiles in spritesheet
  }

create() {
    // Setup up map for this scene/level
    var mapObj = mapSetup.sceneMap(this, 'map', 'cave', 'world')
    this.map = mapObj.map;
    this.physics.add.overlap(this.player, this.stars, collectibleSetup.collectStar, null, this);
  }// create

update () {
    this.scene.start('Playground')
  }

Playground.js

// Playground.js
export class Playground extends Phaser.Scene {