SolidParticleSystem Animation Performance

entropy

I'm a bit of a novice (with Babylon.js and 3D programming in general), so please bear with me.

I'm wanting to create a scene with many repeating objects; so, of course, I want to use instancing to maximize performance. The documentation, the many examples, and countless posts on this forum eventually led me to the SolidParticleSystem. Indeed, this seems to do almost exactly what I want.

The SPS seems to work great so long as all the particles are static. Tens of thousands of particles are no problem. However, that all changes as soon as the properties of the particles need to change on a regular basis. I've created a simple example to illustrate the "issue": https://playground.babylonjs.com/#H8ZQMH. (Now, in the Playground example, I could move the entire mesh at once and likely achieve better performance, but in my specific application I need to move and orient each particle independently.)

After doing some further reading, my understanding is that setParticles (and updateParticle) are carried out on the CPU side, which probably explains the poor performance. Is there a way to do this on the GPU (or, rather, speed up the process in some way)? In my limited experience using DirectX directly, you would do this in the vertex buffer by, e.g., adding the instance position vector to each vertex. Would something like that be possible using Babylon.js?

5 hours ago, JohnK said:

Hi @entropy and welcome to the forum. Here is a simple example of shader code changing the positions of individual SPS particles. This could be extended.

Thanks for the replies! For the most part, SPS works really well for me. Much of the time, the particles are just sitting there and the performance is great. Occasionally, I'll need to move them to new positions based upon user input...this is when things slow down a bit.

@JohnK, what you are describing sounds very promising. I'm not seeing the code, though--could you try posting it again?