How to create solid ground with heightmap

Sme

I'm new to BJS, so I apologize if this is such a basic question. I have created a ground with a heightmap, and I am simply wondering how can I make sure all entities remain on the ground? Note that there is no physics in my game, so no jumping, etc. In other words, entities will always be 'stuck' to the ground. Right now when creating entities, I am using Vector3 and setting their Y value, but since I am using a heightmap this Y value obviously needs to be dynamic, depending on its current location on the ground.

I was looking here at this link https://doc.babylonjs.com/babylon101/cameras,_mesh_collisions_and_gravity , it seems like I can achieve this by setting the scene's gravity, and setting ground.checkCollisions = true. Considering my use case here is very basic (no physics, entites stuck to ground, etc.), is this still the proper way to handle this scenario?

Thanks

Hiya SME, and welcome.  You have asked a very good question.

Although scene.gravity IS used on physics engines IF no physics engine gravity is also set, scene.gravity is only used for a very specific built-into-BJS collision system.  It is designed for first-person shooters, where a freeCamera is the player (no player mesh).  We can talk about it more, later.  Generally-speaking, scene.gravity is only used on freeCameras that have .applyGravity = true.  It is not used on mesh.

Somebody invented a mesh.moveWithCollisions() that CAN be used with that FPS system.... for simulating gravity on a mesh.  I have never tried it, and I don't have a playground demo handy.

But I DO know of a much easier way.

http://jerome.bousquie.fr/BJS/demos/getHeightAtCoordinates.html

GetHeightAtCoordinates() is a VERY HANDY feature.  Here is a playground...

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#BLAJPA#4

You can see the getHeightAtCoordinates() in line 37 of the renderLoop.