can't use canvas antialiasing for DynamicTexture

mise

Hi! I am very new to Babylon. I am hoping to switch to Babylon for a game that's already well underway after trying two other engines.
I am really liking it so far!

For now my game is a lot of 2D and one of my requirements is nice text rendering (which I haven't found in the other engines).

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#O4OXG#16 

I want to render text on Planes like that, with dynamic backgrounds. This is how for I got with what I want (my camera will be straight facing and stationary) but as you can see if you zoom in, the canvas text's alpha values are mixed with black. The orange part is how I want it to look, but of course that is not a dynamic background.

How can I preserve those alpha values coming from the Canvas?

Thanks a lot!

Nice one. With your help I figured it out: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#O4OXG#25
we paint the diffuse texture completely text color, which gets rid of the left over black pixels in your version.

I don't think you can get the orange rectangle in there without making more textures, but I think that is fine.

Thanks mate!

I still think it's strange that you can't directly use the alpha values, at least not without also taking the black background pixels that have no business being there :).

I think you now need a texture layer for each color you want to draw on the canvas (at least if you want anti aliasing, which seems wise if you want any image quality).

Edit: Am I correct that hasAlpha doesn't work as expected? it seems to round alpha values to 1 or 0, that is why my original example looks so weird. Can someone explain why that is? That would also make it hard to display regular non-square sprites.

5 hours ago, mise said:

Am I correct that hasAlpha doesn't work as expected?

In addition to what Sebavan has said, have a look at assigning an AdvancedDynamicTexture to a mesh 4th parameter: