Javascript GC or pooling

botmaster

I'm not an expert in javascript GC so I'm still wondering the best way to approach object creation/destruction in javascript.

For example if you look at this PIXI demo: https://pixijs.io/examples/#/interaction/dragging.js

If you drag objects around for let's say 1 minute, you'll be creating around 10k Point objects.

But if you implement Point pooling (or other solution), you end up using only one Point.

Now coming from other techs I tend to think 10k object in one minute is very, very bad even though a Point is fairly small it does add up. 

So what are the javascript experts think about this? Is the javascript GC so good that creating 10k Point objects beats easily recycling one (with array.push > array.length - 1)

24 minutes ago, botmaster said:

If you drag objects around for let's say 1 minute, you'll be creating around 10k Point objects.

where did you see this ?

the GC correctly do job here and not create more point than necessary ?

FG9HncZi_o.png

If you got 10 000 point in memory after 1 min, something wrong, the 9 point your can see here came from native element in pixijs.

Pooling it better if you want keep ref and prevent GC, pixi-sound and greensock have good example of pool system,

In greensock, it scan every ~2 sec the pool, and than release for GC.

It good for managing no syncro stuff like tween.

ho ok sorry for the misunderstand.
Well from my logic , a pool it good, because it avoid GC to remove and manage too many stuff in same frame.
It allow you to decant the emptying of memory, so it will in some case avoid `spike lag` and than a little freeze.
Yes i think pooling it a good idea to manage 10k... 20k points with GC.

Release 20k objets to GC!  you will probably have some spike lag at this frame. `(little freeze)`

it's better to have a pool with ref id, and remove these references through a time range if you have a lot of stuff.