Problem with TexturePacker and Tiled Map Editor

gaelbeltran

I, I'm trying to make maps for my new phaser game but I'm having some problems.

I'm using Texture Packer to pack my game assets, and then loading the exported image to Tiled to make maps. The problem is that my sprites aren't multiples of the same size like I always do, like 32x32, 32x64, 128X64, etc. They are like: 20x52, 40x130, 62x46, etc. And I can't make make the right selections within Tiled.

Has any of you faced this problem? Is there a "non tiled, generic" map editor compatible with phaser?

Or is there a thing I can change within Tiled to make this work?

I'm a complete Tiled newbie, but I have a few irregularly shaped tiles for landscape features (checkpoint altars, trees, etc). Those landscape features end up being Sprites.

In Tiled, I have a tileset for each one of these features that is made up of a single image. So, e.g., I have a "checkpoints" tileset that uses "checkpoint-off001.png" which is a single frame of the checkpoint animation spritesheet that I haven't put into Texture Packer. Then I have a checkpoints layer that contains a bunch of checkpoint tiles and, in Phaser, I do this:

if (this.checkpoints) {  this.checkpoints.destroy();}this.checkpoints = this.game.add.group();this.checkpoints.enableBody = true;map.createFromObjects(  'checkpoints', 21, 'checkpoint', 0, true, false, this.checkpoints, Checkpoint, false);

21 is the "gid" of the checkpoint tile. You can find out what gid you need in the JSON exported from Tiled.

It's working for me so far.

That's what I was thinking.

@rich Have you faced a problem similar to this with your games? having to build levels with graphics that aren't "tiles"? What do usually do? I've always used the same tile sizes, so this is new to me.