Collision + press key help

6regor

Hi,

I am new to Phaser.

Could anyone please give me tips on how to possibly cause a sprite to pop up after the player sprite collides with another specific sprite + presses a key ?

For example, in gameboy pokémon you can walk up to a sign or a person and press (A) to cause text to appear.

Sorry about the very untechnical language, I hope you understand what I mean.

Thanks,

6regor

for a specific code example you can actually use i would need to know if you are working with arcade physics or p2 physics..

in general this should be very easy..    you define a collision callback and in this callback function you create the sprite at whatever position you want it to appear..

in p2 you could do something like this:

otherperson.body.onBeginContact.add(mycustomcreatespritefunction,this);function mycustomcreatespritefunction(object1){    if (object1.sprite && object1.sprite.name == 'whatever') {          somesprite = game.add.sprite(x, y, 'key');    }} 

in arcade you could do something like this:

game.physics.arcade.collide(player, otherperson,mycustomcreatespritefunction);

but there are other ways to do what you want...  

if you want to trigger something on A:

var Akey;  // outsideAkey = game.input.keyboard.addKey(Phaser.Keyboard.A);   // in create functionif (Akey.isDown){   //in update function           //do whatever you need to do}

you could add a if statement in your collision function

// if player collides with signSignHandler: function  (player, Sign) {        // if player clicks A/ActionButton button while colliding with sign        if (this.ActionButton.isDown) // || A.isDown        {           // do stuff here        }    }

of you could add a if statement right in your update function 

// if player collides with sign// if player clicks A/ActionButton button while colliding with signif(this.game.physics.arcade.overlap(this.player,this.sign) && this.ActionButton.isDown ){            // do stuff here        }