Jigglypow

Hello everyone!

So I want to start using babylon.js and I want to calculate the collison on the server (so I guess I need no rendering, only calculating with meshs loaded by loaders). For that I would use node.js for server-side javascript.

The question is, is it possible to use babylon with node.js since node.js is using their module.export way to include other files?

Anyone tried it out? I tried it with normal npm install babylonjs but when I require the babylon files with node.js I only get errors like navigator objects is not defined.

If anyone knows more on this topic I would be interested to hear (since I am a noob)!

greets~

That's really not recommended. You will still need some form of rudimentary collision detection in the client or you're going to get a lot of position readjustment "glitches". If it's not real time movement then you'd probably be ok. What you're suggesting will cause the render loop to wait for your packet to the server, collision calculation calcultion, the return message, message processing, etc. You're going to loose a lot of FPS doing it that way.

The more standard way to do that is to guess the collisions on the client and then adjust as needed after the server calculates it. You build in an acceptable deviation to minimize the position glitching. This is really only useful when you're trying to stop speed / position hackers in your game.

Indeed, I'm working on a project that uses that also. I calculate everything in the client then I post the coordinates on the database (in a PHP server). In the beggining I thought the same has you, but rapidly I saw that it would be impossible to run it smoothly (and my project is not smooth enough, i can assure you, cause of the delay to get the coords for drawing the meshes).

Well I want to calculate the collision on the client and server, as you said, the server will check if the new position is possible.