Compression of mesh files?

hermetic

Hi,

I'm new to babylon.js

while comparing/finding a good 3D .js framework, I compare babylon.js and three.js now.

Sadly it looks that three.js has more import-formats (even if not all are fully developed: VRML seems not to use textures?),

but a big prob on all .js mesh import is that compared with .obj and other binary formats are, that .js meshs are twice the size, because their overhead.

Which brings me to the question, if a compression (.gz, .zip?) is possible or built in, or if babylon mesh use such?

Or how would such be done?

Ah and

greetings to Griff... err Gryff

Seems it took a long time till 3D in a browser worked. :D

Hi Hermetic,

BabylonJS documentation states that a binary format is planned (like ThreeJS has).

Apart from that, you can turn gzip compression on your hosting apache, to achieve pretty nice compression to the babylon files.

You do it by changing either the apache configuration file (if you have root access) or the .htaccess file (if allowed by the administrator).

A smaple from .conf file:

AddType application/babylon .babylonAddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/babylon text/html text/plain text/xml text/css text/javascript application/javascript

I am first adding the mime type (you can add more of course), and then stating that these mime types should be compressed.

Of course, the gzip apache module should be enabled (mod_deflate).

You can read about it here:

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/mod/mod_deflate.html

in htaccess it would probably look like this:

<ifModule mod_deflate.c>  AddType application/babylon .babylon  AddOutputFilterByType DEFLATE application/babylon text/html text/plain text/xml text/css text/javascript application/javascript</ifModule>

Hope it helps :)

Thank you very much!

Ah, the good old mime-type. So the browser decompress it itself, nice, I was confused, because the example-projects are often so big-MBs.

I will try it.