Game Maker Studio HTML5 or not...

vcarluer

Hello,

I have some questions about which tool to use to create HTML5 effectilvely, which means to produce a finished game as quick as possible.

I'm an experienced developer, I know HTML5, canvas and I tried once phaser.js to make a game for the previous ludum dare (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=11818)

My brother recently gave me a license to Game Maker Studio, which I've been trying a long time ago, and it's quite nice to make something quick.

But I think (not really sure for now...) I will try to take on the HTML5 market, GMS sells a license to export at $99.

At first I planed to go with GMS, despite the fact i'm a good programmer, for 2 mains reasons:

- Quick to develop a new game

- Can export to other technologies to try other existing markets or export games to future ones.

I've read some thread on this forum which said than GMS is a little buggy and than HTML5 export needs to dedicate game project for this export kind (due to technology specific issues).

I didn't got really serious on GMS, only watch some hours of video tutorials and code a little Windows game to try.

I love technology but I want to make game and I try this time to use the best tool to quickly make some instead of having fun with techs stuffs.

But when I see what I can achieved with something like phaser.js versus learning time of GMS + specific coding for HTML 5, the only benefit I see is quick making of games but I know I can achieved this with a proper build process and templates...

So, this is where I am for now but I'm not sure of it, maybe there is other alternatives too.

Do you think it's better in my context to do HTML5 directly (with phaser.js for example) or to use a high level game designer tool?

Thanks.

I've been using it for a while, It does work quickly , but as you said there are a few bad sides (especially html5):

1- It's not optimized for mobile by itself;