Why does this (boilerplate) code work

ashes999

Hi,

Caveat: I'm new to Phaser, new to CoffeeScript, and fairly new (< 6 months) to Javascript. I've written a small-ish game in JS + CraftyJS in the past.

I'm trying to convert the "hello world" Phaser app into its equivalent in CoffeeScript. Here's what I have working:

class State  constructor: () ->    preload: () ->        game.load.image('logo', 'phaser.png')  create: () ->      logo = game.add.sprite(game.world.centerX, game.world.centerY, 'logo')      logo.anchor.setTo(0.5, 0.5)window.onload = () ->    @game = new Phaser.Game(800, 600, Phaser.AUTO, '', new State)

I've looked at the equivalent generated JS, but I can't quite figure out why this works; specifically, @game = new Phaser.Game(...) confuses me. TLDR: why do I need to assign the value to @game and not just game?

Observations:

• window.game takes the value of the game variable
  • The State class has no references to game, or window, that I can see
  • Changing @game to game breaks the game.

Can anyone explain this? It doesn't seem like it has to do with closures, or global variables, or anything else I can think of. Why does this work?

Question updated. It's not the game state, but the assignment to "game" vs. "@game".

I looked at the generated JS (obviously?) and some other stuff (see initial thoughts) -- I think it has something to do with CoffeeScript putting everything in an anonymous lambda (and thus limiting scope), but I can't quite tell what the difference is and what @game belongs to.

Question updated. It's not the game state, but the assignment to "game" vs. "@game".

I looked at the generated JS (obviously?) and some other stuff (see initial thoughts) -- I think it has something to do with CoffeeScript putting everything in an anonymous lambda (and thus limiting scope), but I can't quite tell what the difference is and what @game belongs to.