Phaser Performance with large resoluton

olkina

Hi!

I'm working on a game for mobile devices. I use Microsoft Visual Studio with Cordova project to code and debug, and I plan to use Phonegap Build to compile my game for the deployment.

I'm really new in JavaScript game development. (I was working on ActionScript about last 8 years and I have really good experience in Adobe AIR development.)

I'm writing my first game in Phaser. Because we're planning to publish our games for the modern mobile devices we've decided to use the graphics with high resolution (2048x1536).

The first state of my game looks nice on the PC, but in the mobile doesn't work well: I see the game elements appears on the screen (but I supposed to see the splashscreen until I finish to put the elements on the game), the background sound sounds like in Skype conversation.

The sound weight is 3.9 Mb, and all the graphics I use in the state are 1.7 Mb.

Is it possible to get to the good performance with such big resolution?

Maybe I have to choose another game engine?

I have addition problems:

1. The tileSprite background that I can see in PC during the debug in Ripple I don't see in the device - I see black background with green lines

2. I can hear the sound during debug on PC and during debug on the device, but when I compile my game with Phonegap the sound just disappears. I hear the sound of silence...

Olga

That's a huge resolution, although I think the issue is more PhoneGap than Phaser to be honest. You're probably just maxing out what its webview can handle.

If sprites are appearing black / invisible then it's usually because the texture is unable to load onto the mobiles GPU (i.e. it's too large).

Have you tried using CocoonJS or CrossWalk at all?

I would also suspect performance is very device specific - i.e. a cheap Android tablet would struggle massively vs. a more expensive one (or an iPad).