Create a High Score with Phaser?

Rookie Boy

Hi!

This is my first time creating a game via a tutorial which I've coded along with so I am a completely new at this but I am eager to learn.
I've this game "Bunny Defender" and want to create a simple High Score which I can store in some kind of localstorage with ex XML and
display the high score result out on the screen when the game is over. 

I don't know how to do this and where to start. Would be very thankful if someone could point me at the right direction and how to manage this?

// The complete game online
http://rewindlevel.net/

// All the game files on github
https://github.com/eiffelqiu/bunny-defender

/Rookie Boy

Every browser supports local storage, which is a key-value string based store with a super simple api.

window.localStorage.setItem( 'playerName', '2300' )

And that's it, you can even shorten it a little and you could insert a number instead of a string but note it'll get turned into a string when the browser actually stuffs it into storage. It'll be keyed against the current url and will be available the next time (and every other time) you hit that url, and its synchronous so you don't even have to worry about waiting for it to complete.

console.log( window.localStorage.getItem( 'playerName' )
// 2300

How you choose to store things is up to you but its just a key value pair, no nesting or levels or anything, super simple and simple is good. If you want to stuff JSON in there then go ahead its just text, ditto if you really want to use XML, if you want to stuff in an object then stringify it first, localStorage won't do this for you but it's probably worth using a wrapper library anyway, particularly if you want to support old browsers whereby the wrapper should gracefully degrade to use cookies.

You could use IndexedDB or even Web SQL but they're trickier to use, have a few cross-browser issues and are overkill for your requirements.

mattstyles is 100% right.