Develop for Android only

TheBoneJarmer

Hey guys

I am rather new to this subject but not with game programming in general. The thing is, I got a working C# OpenGL 3D library, framework and engine I use to build PC games and 3D editors with. But lately with all this fussle about Pokémon GO I have started thinking about developing games and apps for mobile phones and tablets. I have never been really interested in this stuff for I think it is quite complicated compared to building a pc game. I mean, I use C# for both my 3D editors and my library. The stuff works and was pretty simple to set up. It is pretty easy to export games with it as well. Also, when I build a game I can easily put it online in a ZIP or something and almost everyone can download and play it right away.

When it comes to developing mobile games, well, I don't know. It looks freaking complicated. Tried Java and Android Studio, which was and still is terribly slow and didn't even manage to get my hands dirty with iOS. When I started creating HTML5 games (hence the reason why I am here) it worked perfectly in the browser across all laptops and home PC's I tested it with. Tried it on different browsers on phones and tablets as well as a cordova app and none of the results were the same. One device A something did not work that did work on device B. And on device C nothing worked while on device D everything worked. The results were overall dissapointing. The performance was terrible on most devices and that was only Android. I have not managed to test it on iPhones or iPads because I don't have access to one. Can't build apps for it either because I don't own a Mac and I am not planning to do half the work on Windows without being able to test my app on an Apple device I have yet to aquire. Not to mention the price. I mean, I am not rich, I am a student with student loans which have yet need to find a job.