How to implement a virtual pet game

greendot

Hey guys,

I need to implement a simple virtual pet game where users can dress them up with clothes, hat, etc. The pet will have simple animations such as when touched, or fed, it'll do a gesture and stuff like that.

I have never coded a game before so I'm unsure what framework and path to take. Also, in terms of graphics, what would it be the best approach? For example, how can I add a piece of clothing to the pet and this added piece be part of the animation? Maybe is there an example somewhere where I can get some ideas from?

Thanks! 

Hey dude, if you're not a coder then using an existing game making software is a very good idea. One thats really popular right now and quite easy to use is Construct 2 (just google it).

As for graphics inkscape is a good free vector software, its a bit like working with circles and squares to make the image you want and the youtube tutorials will probably help with graphics.

Once you find out what framework or software you want to make it in, you will be able to find examples of games which have some of the mechanics you need. For example construct 2 has animation mechanisms so you'll want to find them, it also has "pinning" e.g. pin a coat to the animal, which you'll want to look into.

One tip for a non-coder: you WILL have to learn bits of code in order to make your game, unless you can just buy someone elses game. So you will need to learn how to make things change when you click buttons, how to figure out if two things are hitting eachother. This stuff is really simple in Construct 2, but still requires understanding of code.

Hope this brief info helps.

Jammy.

Thanks a lot Jammy, I have never heard of Construct 2 before. I guess I have to try different frameworks and see which ones I like the most. So far Phaser is at the top of my list due to its huge community involvement.