Select mesh edges and vertices on mouse over

Arte

:)  thx.  Sometimes foolishly.  :)

Sooooo... did you try to "derive" the 8-points... using only boundingInfo and boundingBox (and their properties)?  What happened?  Not enough code lines?  (snicker)

Just curious.  :)   You're probably going vert-dragging and edge-dragging, so you probably need to play in vert-land anyway.

hehe... No pressure at all.  I was MAYBE going to try a "derived from boundingBox" version... IF you haven't already tried one.

I'm no pro with the boundingBox wrangling, but... it might be fun for a bit of afternoon pain.  :) 

You have actual verts, so you could drag and bend junk.  With a boundingBox-derived 8 spheres... it would be for... well... things OTHER THAN drag-plotting verts.  :)

Add-in our now-famous tri-grid 3D drag'n'drop, next?   Maybe put your box in there, and when you light-up a sphere, put a round decal or disc on all three planes, each/any can be dragged?  Huh?  :)  Let's go!   heh

Ah heck, I tried a "balls from the bounding box" version...

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#35HAW1#8

vertexData-free... but not near as much fun.  :)

How about some edges?  https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#35HAW1#9

It uses addEdge() which is almost identical-to cylinderBetweenPoints().  Goofy.

Unfortunately, addEdge() screws-up the pivotPoints/origins on all the edges, and I think you would REALLY like all the edge origins to be dead center of each edge.  hmm.

Yours is more ready for dragging verts/edges, should you want-to.  My bbx version is positionKind -stupid.

You're going to stay rectangular, so, you would probably drag an entire quad/side/top/bottom... 4 points moving at once. 

Anyway, have a fine evening, and thanks for letting me play with your project.  I hope I didn't ruin any fun for ya.

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#35HAW1#15