Pivot Problems

learn3d

Hello,

im new in Babylon and i have problems with my pivot points.

I tried to rebuild it in a playground - my first question - why is the pivot not in the middle of the second cylinder? Its shown with a sphere at 0,0,0

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#RLT22Z

Unfortunately my obj file doesnt save the pivot of my 3ds max object - so i tried to position it manually. After i positioned it up on the y axis and control the slider - the parent(cylinder01) and the world coordinates moves around my positioned pivot(cylinder02)...

I wish i could show you the scene - but in playground the sliders didnt work.

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#FG1ECQ

I hope somebody can help me :/

Hi and welcome.

I tried to rebuild it in a playground - my first question - why is the pivot not in the middle of the second cylinder? Its shown with a sphere at 0,0,0

You are positioning the sphere using cylinder02.getPivotPoint(); but as you haven't set the pivot point this returns 0

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#RLT22Z#3

Secondly using the developer tools inspection panel in the browser quickly shows these errors in the console

ReferenceError: Cylinder01 is not defined

ReferenceError: Cylinder02 is not defined

You used c for your cylinder variables not C.

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#FG1ECQ#1

Hi guys.  I've been working this a bit, too... using the other playground.  https://playground.babylonjs.com/#RLT22Z#2

In line 51, I try to set sphere position AT cylinder02 getAbsolutePosition() + getPivotPoint() (pp is 0,0,0)

Not doing so well, am I?

Position cylinder02's parent (which is cylinder01) back to 0,0,0 (disable lines 37/38), and the sphere locates to cylinder02 pivotpoint/position... perfectly.  Does THAT seem normal?

I thought getAbsolutePosition() could get a mesh.position value, no matter what parenting-hell was applied.  Strange... maybe.

Update:  Oops, yep, thx @JohnK, I meant to link to #2.  link fixed, now.