Is it okay to send email to publishers simultaneously for exclusive game license offer?

claydev

Hi,

This might be business related though, as I am a newbie :). I'd like to sell my game to some publishers and thinking I'd just send it simultaneously to cut time, cause who knows when they would reply. Do you think this is okay? I mean because this is an exclusive offer, if both of them reply with interest at the same time, I have to definitely decline the other one, with reason that doesn't seem to be okay by saying that there's a better offer (unless the price offer is no good whatsoever). I feel like this isn't a good conduct, but I'm not sure so I'm asking here to be sure. :lol:

I'd love to know your experience on how to deal with this situation.

Cheers!

Yes, it's okay to do that. Just get the best offer and decline the others. That's how this business works. They won't get mad or anything because they also have hundreds of games to pick from. And also be honest and tell them you got a better offer from another publisher but don't mention the name. This way the industry will increase the prices for exclusive license since right now is pretty low, around 1500-3000 euros.

I think saying no to publishers is fine. Publishers say yes only if they see an opportunity otherwise they simply say no so its good for both ends. Unless you are afraid of ruining your relationship with certain publisher which should not happen in my opinion. Business is business.

Yeah since this is an exclusive offer, I enjoy a bit of loyalty (on my end) to a publisher that I can trust with. So if there's a publisher that'd say yes to my game, I'd like to stick with that publisher, then try to contact other publishers only after that publisher gave a rejection of my offer. Let's just say "good" publisher have my priority.