Problems with pivot and rotation

ichbinrob

Hi,

My first post on a forum since..... lot of time. But i'm totally lost about a little problem and I need your help !

(first, i'm not a native english speaker, so sorry if I do mistake)

I'm a newbie, it's doing lot of time I would like to try webGL, but I hadn't opportunity to work on a real project.

So, I need to make a box from a template (like this http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#192VEQ#5 ). Each faces are made with the Meshbuilder. And I need to bend and close the box (for animate it and make it interactive). Ideally the template will be not defined (with less / more faces, different size, but not the problem now), and I search a process who not need tinker with improbable translation for example.

Annd I've real problem to have a good understanding with rotation and pivot. I think my lack of knowledge in 3D and in english don't really help ...

So for the moment I've made that : http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#192VEQ#6
For example, why the flap (the red mesh) rotate like that, I use the same process than "plaque 4" (blue mesh next to the red). And I don't understand why there are a shift.

I'd just want to do a 90deg rotation from the side.

I know there already lot of stuff about pivot and rotation, but I'm really stuck, and they don't answer to my questions. 

Sorry if it's not really clear . But I hope you can point me on the good solution or/and explain me (I continue to search, so I'll update the post if I found something haha).

and thank you for your help in advance !

Hello and welcome back :)

Sorry there is a lot of code and I'm not sure to get the problem: How do you expect your "plaque5" to rotate?

can you reduce the PG and pinpoint the issue? I will be pleased to help

Hiya ichbinrob, welcome.

I have to say... this scene is indeed a challenge.  I think you have done a marvelous job so far.  You are experimenting with parenting MUCH, and it is hard work... with geometry like this.