Blender > .babylon Vertex Groups

Hello,

For anyone that may be interested, I have been messing with mesh.py to get it to export Vertex Groups along with their associated indices and have attached it.

I think @adam and @ozRocker have both asked about this and I'd definitely make good use of it. I'd be grateful if you could let me know if this works for you or not, please.

It currently adds them under the 'meshes' as 'vertexGroups'

Massive disclaimer: I am not good with Python!

Thank you

Problem: it duplicates indices.

mesh.py

Edited by babbleon
Problem

Saw the pg, and downloaded last file, but did not diff it to the repos.  As it is the largest source file in the add-on, I would need to diff to find the lines added / changed.  Not a big deal in Netbeans.  I do not a use for right now in my own work, but now that I know it is an option uses might come up.

If you are thinking about a PR, a checkbox in the custom properties (default false) would definitely be needed, since if you are not using, it could really increase the size of the export file. 

Thank you @ozRocker, do let me know if you have problems with it.

@JCPalmer, I have now added checkbox as you suggested. I have a problem which is beyond my understanding of python and would be grateful if you could help please. You may recall we added the 'Track To' constraint which adds this to metadata. I cannot work out how not to overwrite metadata when we have both 'Vertex Groups' & 'Track To'. I attach the latest mesh.py though I can do a PR if you prefer.

mesh.py

7 hours ago, ozRocker said:

Just wondering, with the Blender export, is vertex order preserved?

Not at all.  Even worse, if you desired that, the vertices are not even directly consulted.  A feature in Blender that allows you to get a temp copy of geometry, with modifiers applied is used.  So if you were using a modifier like mirror, then twice the vertices would be exported than were actually be in the mesh.