Pinball Demo

CtlAltDel

Inspired by 2 earlier demos of pinball in phaser:

http://noben.org/pinball/ and https://github.com/georgiee/phaserpinball

I decided to try and give it a go myself for a first attempt at actually making something playable with Phaser.

There are no graphics used other than those I coded myself using bitmapdata, I am no artist, but I can code my way around graphics :) Hence the blueprint style. The sounds are all from freesounds.org etc.

The whole thing is driven by p2 physics with revoluteconstraints for the flippers and extra restitution for the bumpers.

The 'game' is currently pretty boring and over quickly, but I'll probably add more elements in the future.

Try it here: Pinball

Enjoy, and comments welcome.

P.S. I tried programmatically adding a polygon for the flippers but failed horribly, for some reason it kept moving the polygon around as if it tried to keep the center of mass on the center of the polygon? Anyone have any experience with that?

Hey,

nice demo! But it's scary to see so many raw canvas drawings. I hope you did not waste any time on creating them- just so see what shape looks best? You would be faster in photoshop or any other pixel editor.

I can also see in the source that you're adding a lot of circles and rectangles to the body to create the polygon. Is that the consequence of your described problem with the polygon? I can ensure you, there is absolutely no problem in using polygons with joints with P2. It must be a problem in the way you created them ? Do you have an example ?

I always create my physics in PhysicsEditor, export them with the phaser exporter and import them with Phaser.Physics.P2.Body#addPhaserPolygon.

There was a mass center bug with the default import method Phaser.Physics.P2.Body#loadPolygon (https://github.com/photonstorm/phaser/pull/749). Maybe this is causing your bug?