Phaser scale manager - Forcing orientation

Codenburger

Hi,

I am developing an app, where I would like to see the orientation of the screen kept to Portrait.

After many searches on google, I gave up and just went ahead with building a simple prototype of my app idea.

I have now come to a stage where I should deal with the orientation aspect of the app.

After studying the book: Phaser Scale manager for Phaser 2.2.2, I have tried to use the following code in my app:

if (game.device.desktop === false)    {        game.scale.scaleMode = Phaser.ScaleManager.SHOW_ALL;        game.scale.pageAlignHorizontally = true;        game.scale.pageAlignVertically = true;        game.scale.forceOrientation(true, false);        game.scale.enterIncorrectOrientation.add(this.enterIncorrectOrientation, this);        game.scale.leaveIncorrectOrientation.add(this.leaveIncorrectOrientation, this);    }
I am new to Phaser and programming generally. I earned a distinction in the Coursera: Intro to computer programming in Python.

I have found that what I have learn't in that course is easily transferable to JavaScript and Phaser, yet, I am still learning.

Maybe if this problem can be resolved, it would help other people new to Phaser on the forums also.

Codenburger

Hi, generally, you can not "lock" orientation, but usual solution is to alert user to turn device (implemented in Phaser mobile template). Then comes scaling issues - I spent some time with it and my solution is:

I have this global method (MyGame object stores important global variables). My "desired" resolution for game is 1280x800 in landscape. But the game can work with any resolution and preserve aspect ratio - this is reason why there is offsetX and offsetY calculated. If dimension is too crazy I am preserving aspect ratio by creating either X or Y offset. Game design allows me to fill additional area with single color - see attached image.

post-12887-0-82788800-1424462402.png