Depth Culling Shader

Olgo

Hello everybodies,

I'm a (french) new member of BJS community (so sorry for my English)  :D .

One of my projects requires a custom shader that allow me to use an object as mask, ie every rendering behind my object must be discarded (but my object must stay invisible).

To do so, my idea is to disable the color buffer in the fragment shader with a function like glDrawBuffer(GL_NONE but maintain it in the depth buffer with a function like gl_FragDepth = gl_FragCoord.z

I have two problems with this technique :

- Writing the depth buffer directly in a fragment shader  is extremely not recommended

- This functions aren't compatible with webgl (which use opengl es 2.0, i guess)

Is there a better / simplest way to do this trick ? (I'm a newbie in shader programming)

hopefully,

Loïc.

Ok, i have a new problem.

Deltakosh, when i test you're solution in the playground it works fine, but in my project i'm it don't.

In fact, the "mask object" need to be rendered first to work. This playground illustrate it :

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#134UKN

If you define "sphere" as mask object it works, however if you define "sphere2" it don't.

How can i choose the render order ?

Sorry, it doesn't seems to be what i need.

mesh.renderingGroupId control the objects order into depth buffer, but not depending on their 3D positions.

I made a new playground to have a better example of my problem :

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#134UKN#3

In this example, we see that the mask (because of the creation order) is ok at some viewing angles and not at others. But if we create the mask object before every other objects, all is ok.

In my project case, the objects are provided by a blender export in .babylonjs, so i can't control the creation order.