Meshes with opacity map not properly layered/performance issues

Convergence

I discovered babylon.js last week, and its very good mostly :) Lets me finally take a crack at game design, since full environments like Unity are too daunting for me.

I started playing around with it, and one of the issues I encountered was that imported meshes with an opacity map are not displayed correctly in my scene, the meshes behind 'bleed through'.

I unfortunately cannot setup my scene in the playground since it loads .babylon meshes and is enveloped by php/mysql already, but I have a screenshot:

As you can see, I circled two areas where the bushes in the background bleed through the bush in the foreground. Also a bit to the right more foliage is bleeding through, which I didn't circle.

Oddly enough the grass, which obviously also uses an opacity map also doesn't suffer from this. But the grass is just a Plane, not an imported mesh.

o2tL4RG.jpg

I have another question.. How are the statistics supposed to be interpreted?  When i point my camera downwards in the above scene I get decent to good FPS (30+), however when I point my camera upwards towards the forest canopy, the fps drops quite a bit. The tree meshes are really simple (3 cylinders for branches  and 10 planes for leaves), textures no larger than 512/512. However I can't seem to get more than about 20 FPS, which seems a bit stranger considering the number of indices/meshes/draw calls are less. Anything I'm missing? 

The only thing that I can think of is that the faces for the leaves are quite large, and large polygons take a lot more time to draw?

J5hGWRL.jpg

Thanks for the suggestion :)