Counting Beats

ThatGirlDee

Hi I'm new to Javascript and trying to learn Phaser by building a simple rhythm game. in short you tap along to the beat of a song. You know when to tap by a horn sound. I have created a function that calculates when the sound should play in the given time in minutes and stores it to an array like this:

function songManager(evt) {       this.notes = [];     storage['currentBpm'] = evt.bpm    storage['eighthNoteDuration'] =  1000 * 0.5 * 60 /evt.bpm ;     this.totalBars = (storage['eighthNoteDuration'] * 32)    / storage['totalTime'] ;                // Set global notes array    for (var bar =0; bar < this.totalBars; bar ++){            //console.log(bar);        var noteTime = bar * 8 * storage['eighthNoteDuration'];        this.notes.push(noteTime + 2 *storage['eighthNoteDuration'], noteTime + 8 * storage['eighthNoteDuration'] );            }                         storage['notes'] = this.notes;        function calculateBar(evt) {            this.notes.push(evt );    }

I'm having trouble keeping track of time in my game.js and comparing it to the time in my array. I start the song and the timer:

songStart: function() {                this.previousTime = this.song.currentTime;        this.song.play();        this.lastReportedPlayheadPosition = 0;        this.songPlaying = true;            },

and then update the time in the update function: 

this.songTime =  this.song.currentTime - this.previousTime;        this.previousTime = this.song.currentTime;

then I check to play the horn in a function called every update also :