rotation and angles

cityrock

Hello,

I am very very new to phaser and just started playing around with it.

I am trying to find a way in which i can rotate (using rotation, angle or any other method can be advised) the world of a game in which the center point of rotation is the center of the camera, and not position 0,0 of the world itself.

This means the center point for rotation is dynamic and based on the center point of the current camera.

Is it possible to do with phaser? 

I believe I am looking for a way to offset the point of rotation for the world object of the game.

Thanks in advance

Eli

• 3 months later...

I found a way to rotate the camera around a given point:

game.camera.displayObject.pivot.x = game.camera.view.x + game.camera.view.width/2;game.camera.displayObject.pivot.y = game.camera.view.y + game.camera.view.height/2;game.camera.displayObject.rotation = Math.PI/4; // place your rotation here 

I sill have some trouble now: When i place my camera to the player its not working anymore:

game.camera.focusOnXY(player.x, player.y);

I think the pivot-Point has some effect on that positioning ... but Iam not sure how to calculate the right position.

• 1 month later...
  • 3 weeks later...

I've tried rotating the camera and it works if I set the bounds of world to negative startvalues. This is in order to offset the origin of camera, etc. Without this the camera keeps rotating at [0,0] (top left) of canvas.

There are a few things that makes this a bad choice. First of all the "fixedToCamera" does not work, since the camera is in fact rotating. In essence all "fixedToCamera"-objects become part of the world. Also, setting camera.displayObject.pivot breaks the "follow" setting of the camera.

These are my findings, perhaps it's not broken, I'm just not using it correctly. :)

I hope there is another way, like... rotating world, game, stage or something like that.