3D arcade machine

KuroNo_

Hi. I'm new to babylon.js and to WebGL in general. I've browsed through http://doc.babylonjs.com/tutorials but I'm still having difficulty in coming up on the correct ways on how I can achieve what I want.

So I'm trying to replicate this arcade machine ( on the image attached ). I'll list the ways I can think of on achieving this:

- for the bottom part that has a shape like this: \_/ 

From what I've read, babylon.js has a library for common shapes like cube, spheres etc. but not shapes like that. So the only option left is to use ribbon?

- the controls

I'm planning to make this using image texture and height map.

- upper part

same problem as the bottom part

- lastly, the screen

is there a way to make it somewhat glowing as if it was emitting light?

Any advice or tips will be very helpful.

KR.jpg

Hi @KuroNo_ welcome to Babylon!

First off, for the bottom part, I think you want to implement a frustum-type shape? 'Cause if so, it has already been discussed here:

And I believe you can use same technique for the upper part as well.

Second, the controls... I am not really sure what you mean there? Do you mean keyboard controls or virtual controls on the arcade machine itself? If you mean keyboard controls then they are easily handled with:

window.onkeydown = function(evt){
   if(evt.keyCode === keyboardKeyYouWantToUse){
      // do something
   }
}

Third, glowing effects. Well, those are called post-processes! You can find out more about them here: http://doc.babylonjs.com/tutorials/How_to_use_PostProcesses

You can also create your very own custom post-processes, but you need knowledge of shaders. @deltakosh who is the creator of Babylon has an interesting article about it you can check it here: https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/eternalcoding/2014/04/17/what-do-you-mean-by-shaders-learn-how-to-create-shaders-with-babylon-js/

Enjoy! :)