particle project info

al404

I'm new to 3D and 3D in web browser

I'm looking into threes and babylonjs to see witch will better suit for my project

I need to make a cloud particle system based on an exported ( blander or other software ) mesh

I need to click with the mouse on a singolar particle and retrive an associated ID 

I need to move my make a little animation over the particle close nothing too fancy, just particles moving a little around the mesh

I stated with threes and disappointed me so far is that changed code and functions name, i guess multiple times, 2015 examples often display in console deprecated function or errors on older code

Not sure witch is better to lear since i may not develop something else for a while after this project

From what i read i'm not sure i can assign a name to a cloud particle with babylon, i guess click interaction is possible 

Is it possible to download and install playground on a local server?

Thanks

Hello and welcome!

Among other rules we try to keep back compat between versions :)

For your specific question, we have the Solid Particle System. Here is an example where a mesh is used to generate particles: http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1VCUIJ#15

Documentation: http://doc.babylonjs.com/overviews/Solid_Particle_System

i did try to download the linked example with different browser but it says "Creating archive...Please wait" but download doesn't start

i saw a JS error "index.js:343 Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property '0' of undefined"

Hi guys!

:)  Deltakosh showed you a BIG scene... slow heavy loader (but it's very cool once/if loaded).  It makes my browser window close sometimes, but not the whole browser.  Just the window that IT is using.  Strange.  I think @jerome worked-on that url/scene, and webGL gets nervous when Jerome is nearby.  :D

@al404 - can I ask more about your goal?  How many particles?  Are these pickable particles/planes... used as a menu?   Used as selections/choices?