Shiftah - My first LD entry and indeed, my first game!

GaryS

Gameplay.png

Shiftah is not only my first LD entry, but also my first ever game!

I've been messing about with Phaser for a few months now, loving every minute of it... so thought I'd enter Ludum Dare for the first time.
The theme was 'ShapeShift', which just basically screams 'Altered Beast' to me... however with my limited graphical acumen, what I've ended up with is an endless runner style game where you navigate your ship through an onslaught of blocks and shapes, trying not to get stuck.

The physics are a bit shonky, it has to be said - (I could do with a bit of help on that), but as it stands the game is playable.

All in, this was about 30 hours work and includes my first attempts at MOD tracker music too!

You can play the game directly or view my LD submission page.

Thanks Matt!

Also, thanks for noticing that I've got local storage working on that! As it happens, local storage was really easy. No more difficult than writing a cookie... and if I'm honest, I already had the code to do it laying about.

I've been playing with Phaser for a while, using a basic game as a testbed for techniques and ideas. One of the things I always like to do is write code that can be reusable, and thus I wrote a 'GameData' prefab that handles keeping, updating and displaying stats... scores and the like.
I'd hoped that my prefabs could be dropped into any game I create, and so far that seems to be working well!

As for the blocks, you should be able to slide up and down them... I've had a bit of difficulty there with arcade physics.
As best I can tell, the issue is that the blocks the player collides with are constantly moving, and the collide function aims to move the player back outside of the collision range - this seems to override the velocity that the player happens to have and causes it to stop dead.