Quadtree LOD terrain

Dal

Ok, time to share a preview of something I have been working on for a couple of months now: A quadtree LOD terrain for Babylon.

So far I have:
- Chunking system with infinite paging
- Distance based LOD
- Custom meshing
- Basic UVs and texturing
- Bakes to Babylon GroundMesh objects so all the usual functions, physics etc works.
- Perlin based height data generation.

The bad news is, its currently slower with the LOD than without it, mainly due to memory and garbage collection pressure. I need to make it more efficient at caching the unchanged data between updates and massively reduce the number of new objects created.
I'm also duplicating vertices at the moment, I need to fix that.
And of course... the infamous seams. At the moment there are cracks between the LOD which need to be handled with seam generation.

If anyone has interest in helping, let me know.. I am going slightly crazy developing this :D

lod.PNG

4 minutes ago, jerome said:

Impressive !

Do you have any public repo somewhere so we could check the code (and maybe help) ?

Not yet... I am just doing some major refactoring first... I have had another idea of something to try.
After that I will post it in a repo :D

1 hour ago, Deltakosh said:

What is your question?

More than a question really... I need someone to take a look at the code and figure out what the hell can be done to speed it up :P

The code basically works, I think its probably just a case of optimizing the amount of data that is being passed around but I don't understand the low level stuff enough and it's not really documented AFAIK :(

1 hour ago, Deltakosh said:

Unfortunately I'm pretty busy this times...But one first question: are you using an updatable vertex buffer?

I'm setting the positions like this in the constructor:

this.mesh.setVerticesData(VertexBuffer.PositionKind, positions, false);