Ribbon is flickering

schwarzdavid

Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new with Babylonjs, and I'm facing a problem I cannot solve by myself.

I have to show a metal plate, which is long and thin. So I'm going to create a ribbon, and it works fine, but when the length gets bigger or when I zoom out, the ribbon starts extremely flickering. You can see an example here:

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1CZ6XW#15

Thanks!

Hi guys.  Sorry to interrupt, but... @V!nc3r... what makes you say that?   If this were a piece of edging... that installs along the side of the Mackinaw Bridge (26,372 ft),  then the scale could be correct, yes?  The model is 5000 "units" in depth.

And what if those units are millimeters?  5 meters, then.  16 ft.

But yeah, I guess Khronos and the gang are pretending that a webGL "unit" is 1 meter... making this model just over 3 miles deep.  :)

Have any thoughts, V-meister? 

Just curious... wondering if you might have some info about something... that I need to beg you to teach me.  heh.  (I'm a knowledge thief, and I'll attack ANYONE to get some.)  :)

Kind of a cool playground.  Good ribbon wrangling!   Nice stuff, and welcome to the forum, @schwarzdavid!

I answer as a CG artist (is this the right traduction for infographiste ? I've never been sure ^^), a dev' surely could add some points (and may correct my own) :

• working in right units is part of good practices (example), 'cause even in computer science we just try to copy the real world so all physical values used on 3d engine/software comes from IRL. It's very important if you set a lighting or use physic engine (such basic collision for example) in order to keep logical value of your lamp intensity, gravity, camera parameters, etc. And in physics, the default unit is meter.
  • convenience during modeling : very large unique object are a pain to navigate through, and software viewport handles it with difficulty (example : in blender the viewport default camera is set to min[10cm] max[1km])