Gaming Taxonomy Study and How To Classify Games

Greendude123

Hello,

I’m a student at the Illinois Institute of Technology and I’m looking for your help. We are conducting an online research study to develop a measure of game experience, and we are currently looking for input from game developers on game definitions. I was hoping you would be willing to take part in the study by responding to our survey.

The survey should take no more than 15 minutes of your time, and your answers to the survey are fully confidential. There is no compensation for participation. I would be more than happy to provide you further details or answer any questions on this post.

The link to the survey is given below. Your participation would be immensely appreciated. You would be making a great contribution to science about videogames; in fact, this research may contribute to more effective game design and development because there are few holistic measures of game experience and a general lack of agreement on the "proper" way to classify games (as the notions surrounding game genres and types change across time, space, and culture). Thank you!

Link: https://iitresearchrs.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_5pZK3z7ZkG9AQsZ

How would you go about classifying a game you developed? 

Best,
Green

The first dozen questions are nothing to do with games, and cover areas from education to romantic relationships - which is very off-putting - then the bulk of the questionnaire turns to what games the participant plays.  Most taxonomy questions on this study appear rooted in the theory that game genres are exclusive to one another, whereas modern games (those that aren't based on franchises) are often born from cross-genre blends or experiences that defy comparative reference.

6 hours ago, Greendude123 said:

How would you go about classifying a game you developed?