Phaser physics differing between platforms

JaminJohn

I'm new to Phasor and using it to make a little game for my son with a firetruck driving around and spraying water to put out fires. When the space bar is pressed, the game creates individual water drop sprites coming from the truck with gravity turned on. I give the water drop velocity a slightly random component to make it spread out and not all follow a single parabola. There is a timed event to destroy each water drop. Here is a code snippet creating a water drop that is shooting to the right.

drop = waterdrops.create(truck.body.position.x + TRUCK_SIZE1_X/2,
                                    truck.body.position.y - 20,
                                    'waterdrop');
        drop.frame = 0;
        drop.body.gravity.y = 300;
        drop.body.velocity.y = -100 + randn()*20 + truck.body.velocity.y/2;
        drop.body.velocity.x =  100 + randn()*20 + truck.body.velocity.x/2;
        game.time.events.add(WATERDROP_TIME, destroyDrop, this, drop);

I fiddled around with different numbers until it looked like a nice spray of water coming out and hitting the ground.

This works great when developing on my Macbook Air. However, the really weird issue is that when I run it on my Windows 7 machine the water only goes half as far before being destroyed. I tried doubling the delay time and this made it work well on windows 7 but then on the Macbook the water goes way too far. I also notice that the truck itself seems to go slower. It seems to me that if the body.velocity and body.acceleration values are scaled differently on each machine.

My first though was that maybe it has to do with screen resolution, but thinking about it further that doesn't seem to make sense.

So, why is there a difference in water drop behavior between the two platforms?