Dispose SubMeshes of TiledGround

amethlex

Hi All,

I am new to Babylon.js and are trying tiledground.  My problem is how to dispose some submeshes of tiledGround?

I have tried like 

myTiledGround.subMeshes[3].dispose()

but it does not work.

I even tried to dispose all submeshes like

for (let i = 0; i < myTiledGround.subMeshes.length; ++i) {

myTiledGround.subMeshes.dispose()

}

And also failed.

Only when I dispose the tiledGround with

myTiledGround.dispose().

In the end, I choose to maintain multiple grounds and create / dispose manually.

Hiya amethlex, welcome to the forum.  What you describe... is expected (normal) behavior.  The subMeshes array of a tiled ground... does NOT contain normal mesh.  Each subMesh could be called a "token" object... and it has no .dispose() or .setEnabled() functions.

Do you know how to use your browser's built-in object inspector?

Let's look at this tiledGround playground demo scene.  https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1FXAOY#4

I am doing work in lines 88-96.  After scene isReady + 3 seconds... I print tiledGround.subMeshes[4]... to console.  In my Firefox, if I click-upon the first 'object' in the displayed console line, my in-browser object inspector opens in the lower right corner, and I can "tour" through all the methods and properties on the subMeshes[4] object.  (Object inspectors are super-handy).

There's not very many properties/methods upon subMeshes[4] object, eh?  It doesn't have a .dispose() method, or a .setEnabled() method, or a .visibility property.  It is NOT a standard mesh at all.

Think of a single "grid-like" mesh... like our standard ground mesh.  Let's pretend we have 10 by 10 cells/subdivisions in this grid mesh.  You are trying to dispose ONE CELL of that mesh.   BJS says "Hey... thou shalt not dispose only PART of a mesh."