Trying to understand the babylon paradigm...

Zephos

Hi all,

I am really liking Babylon.js as it has a great community and it is a powerful framework. I am pretty new to graphics programming though and not an expert in JS/TS. Since starting with Babylon, I have run into many scenarios where the most intuitive solution was not the supported way of doing things. I am trying to understand why this is - I actually want to start contributing to the project once I am more comfortable with it - but I can't seem to understand why it is built the way it is. Anyway, I have often found that my frustrations are more due to a lack of understanding than something wrong with the design... so I want to improve my understanding. I have a few questions about why babylonJS is built the way it is, and I am hoping it will reduce the frustration level I am experiencing. I appreciate any answers I can get here.

1. Why are camera controls integrated with the actual camera? This seems counter intuitive because it requires a new implementation of the camera for every different control scheme, instead of just providing easy ways to transform the camera and letting the user define their own control scheme or else use a built in control system that is not dependent on the type of camera. This would allow changing control systems on the fly (without changing view) without trying to sync camera positions, etc. (free camera controls to arc rotate, for example is very difficult without a jarring view change) If there are benefits to doing it the other way that I don't see, please tell me.