Game loop vs. user input

beartown

Hi guys,

I've been a web developer for many years now and I want to try something new. I thought of making a JS game and so I'm here! There are a few topics of game development that I'm curious about, so without further ado, I'm about to shoot the first one.

I need to shift my thinking patterns towards the game loop, which is different than my everyday's JavaScript. The code will be organised a bit differently. I'm trying to understand how to handle user input in a game. Do you guys use events to handle the input, or maybe some kind of abstraction to check for keyboard state in your game loop? I created a simple class to check if a key (or many keys at the same time) is pressed at the current point of time. I did it by keeping key codes in a Set. Adding them with keydown and removing with keyup. Is this a common practice in JS Game Dev?

Here's my class:

export default class {
    constructor() {
        this.keysPressed = new Set();
        this.registerEventListeners();
    }

registerEventListeners() {
        window.addEventListener('keydown', this.keyDown.bind(this));
        window.addEventListener('keyup', this.keyUp.bind(this));
        window.addEventListener('blur', this.clearKeys.bind(this));
    }

keyDown(event) {
        if (event.repeat) return;
        this.keysPressed.add(event.code);
    }

keyUp(event) {
        this.keysPressed.delete(event.code);
    }

clearKeys() {
        this.keysPressed.clear();
    }

isPressed(key) {
        return this.keysPressed.has(key);
    }

isAnyPressed(keys) {
        for (const key of keys) {
            if (this.isPressed(key)) return true;
        }

return false;
    }

areAllPressed(keys) {
        for (const key of keys) {
            if (!this.isPressed(key)) return false;
        }

return true;
    }
}

• 3 months later...

It depends on what the end platform is on how I handle events.