modularize version of phaser

dan

I am new to Phaser and really excited about the posibilities it opens to game developers.
There is one issue I like to talk about - modularity. Phaser is 45,000 lines of JS. the code seems to be well written and domuented but it's still a lot of code to reason with and to maintain.

I am coming from a Node.js mindset and in the Node world everything is modular. The idea is to constract your app using small NPM modules.
This modular approach is one of the reason for the popularity of the Node echosystem.
Node itself has small core and the community adds more functionality by publishing their libraries to NPM.

How cool it would be if we could have something like this;

var gameLoop = require('game-loop');
var keyboard = require('keyboard');
var entity = require('entity');
var physiqueEngine = require('engine');

etc..

Now if something new comes up, we don't need to wait for anyone to add this new hotness into our framework since there is no big framework.
we just replace whatever we want. In addition it will be easier to contribute to the different libraries since each of them is small and is doing only 1 thing (the unix philosophy).

In the 3d game development there is a good example to this approach - http://voxeljs.com/
In the DB world there is levelDB which also based on this - https://github.com/rvagg/node-levelup/wiki/Modules

There is an interesting project for 2d games that is trying this approach - http://crtrdg.com/
And here is a recent blog post by Seth, the developer of this project - http://learnjs.io/blog/2014/03/04/gameloop-load-images-sprite-2d/

I don't know what is the effort and viability for breaking up Phaser into small modules, but at least let's have a discussion about it!

I'm afraid this isn't something I'll be doing in a hurry, although its open source, so anyone is welcome to take a stab at it!

There are several reasons why, but the biggest three for me: