Ab-normals

Bigus

HI All

I'm a 3D and Babylon newbie and am struggling with normals. I understand the concept of them (I think) and that in Babylon terms a normal is defined for each vertex, but I don't know what values to use to define those normals or how to calculate them.

Here is what I've been working on (a way of extruding an object from a 2d face):

http://jsbin.com/noquwehujudi/1/edit

The object is meant to be like a rectangular box with a rebate cut out of it and each "face" of that object is composed of 2 polygons but only one of which is "facing" the right way.

I basically set all the normals to 1 _ I don't know what that 1 means, it's just a value used in one of the playground demos. I don't understand why some polygons are facing the right way (outwards) and some are facing inwards.

Could someone tell me what I should be doing, in not too mathematical terms?

Thanks

Bigus

Thanks for the reply. I did wonder about the order of the faces as there seemed to be no other logical explanation for it. I'll have a look at backFaceCulling too.

With normals, what are the actual values expressed in? That is, are they radians or something else? Do they need recalculating when you rotates the object?

Well, I am having problems with normals myself, trying to re-calculate them on the fly after each frame of deforming / morphing a mesh.  I do know places to look though, for a better understanding. :)

First, a normal is a direction vector, values -1 to 1.  In Babylon it is stored as a flatten array of x0,y0,z0,x1,y1,z1 …  

See a short section on it in the OpenGL equivalent "Blue/Red" book, "WebGL Programming Guide", pgs 299-301.

Also look at source for Mesh.convertToFlatShadedMesh(),  maybe run it on your mesh to see what happens. (Might be in AbstractMesh instead)

Finally, I was using code converted to BabylonJS from this page, though since I am having problems, maybe to do not take as perfect.