Some OOP technique in Phaser

Raiper34

Hi, 

I am new in Phaser and I working with OOP in Java some month ago, I would like to use OOP in Phaser too, because i think OOP is very good for games, so my question is, is it possible? I want to make one js files only with player and his actions/functions... I am a bit confused, yes i newer worked with pure js but i know, that there is no clases.... but how in Phaser? Can you give me any example please?

If you are willing to try something new, take a look at TypeScript. It works very well with Phaser. The type definitions are missing a few things here and there, but things are generally fine.

TS aims to make JS more manageable. As TS is a superset of JS, all JS code is valid in TS, but TS also adds classes, interfaces, enums and a few other things that make life easier. I've been writing in TS for half a year now and I don't want to look at JS code any more.

I would like to use OOP in Phaser too, because i think OOP is very good for games, so my question is, is it possible? 

JavaScript is an object-oriented language, just like Java.

So, all the code you write for Phaser is already OOP code.

But JavaScript is a very different language than Java.

Are there features in Java that you're looking in JavaScript that you can't find?

If you can describe them, we'll be able to tell you how to implement them.

Look inside Phaser source file and observe how it defines JS-style classes with inheritance. See Phaser.Image extending PIXI.Sprite, for example.

Especially take notice of this construct:

ChildClass.prototype = Object.create (ParentClass.prototype);ChildClass.prototype.constructor = ChildClass;

Here is an OOP example from my game.  I want to have a base unit type that is a sprite.

function Unit(game, x, y, spriteName) {   
	Phaser.Sprite.call(this, game, x, y, 'units', spriteName);   
	// base unit stuff goes here
}
Unit.prototype = Object.create(Phaser.Sprite.prototype);
Unit.prototype.constructor = Unit;