2D framework with MVC and TypeScript

I'm looking to continue my 12 year off and on hobby of game development. I'm a professional web developer now, but I have yet to make a web game. 

I'd like to make things a bit more modular and isolated than my previous work. I think MVC will help. I'd like to have the Model (the game simulation with all game logic, physics, etc.) in it's own web worker. The View would get a feed of basic state information out of it for rendering, camera, audio, etc. The Controller would react to the user and send information back to the Model. The View would have no information to send to the Model. 

I'm planning strategy games more than twitchy action games, so I think having the Model in a separate web worker, will actually be better for performance. A bit of input lag is more acceptable than a low frame-rate. If the Model -> View communication includes velocities, the frame-rate of the view can even be decoupled from the frame-rate of the Model.  Plus if I move to start working on multi-player networking, the Model -> View communication can just be more or less duplicated for Server -> Client

My favourite language has always been Python, and I used to loath JavaScript, but the newer ECMAScripts are correcting my biggest gripes, and ultimately I'd really like to work more with Typescript.

Finally, I think I'm going for 2D because I'm not working with any 3D animators and my game play ideas are not really enhanced with by a third dimension.

So I have a few concerns

• It seems there's a lot of poor opinions about MVC in games around here, but it seems perfect for strategy games to me. Is my approach really ill founded?
  • I might find myself working against a broader framework like Phaser or Kiwi. Should I just stick Pixi in the View and a physics engine in my Model, or would a broader framework solve more problems than they create for me?