Body Overlap Detection

mkhan074

Hi everyone, I am new to Phaser framework and it's great! I have made a lot of progress on this Street Fighter game I am doing.

A little background of my problem:

I have my code set up that when I press W (Medium Punch), I increase the width of the sprite by via setRectangle

playerKen.body.setRectangle(70, 80, -18);

once I expanded the hitbox , I play the sprite, then set the width back to its original size once the animation has finished playing:

kenAnimation = playerKen.animations.play('standingMediumPunch', 10, false).onComplete.add(function () {

//reset the graphics back
        playerKen.body.setRectangle(35, 80, -18);

playerKen.body.setCollisionGroup(kenCollisionGroup);
        playerKen.body.collides(mBisonCollisionGroup, hitEnemy, this);
        kenAttacking = false;

playerKen.body.velocity.x = 0;
        playerKen.animations.play('standing', 7, true);
        playerKen.body.static = false;

//console.log('punching');
    }, this);

I have also programmed the AI too, won't get into that. But my issue is the overlapping hitboxes. See the attached photo...  When a situation like this occurs when I am punching and the AI is punching as well, the health of the player and the AI does not decrease.

I looked into https://phaser.io/examples/v2/sprites/overlap-without-physics but the getBounds() method only gets the width of the sprite, not the hitbox. How can I see whether the two hitboxes have intersected?

By the way, I am using p2 physics. 

Thanks a bunch!

overlap.png

Hi everyone, I was able to figure it out, I switched the physics to arcade physics. It has a better overlap detection overall and it's not as jittery as the p2 physics (I feel p2 physics still needs a lot of work to have it on par as the other physics systems in this engine in terms of collission, then again, I am a newb and still learning)

This is my simple enemyAI method