Best Typescript/Phaser IDE?

buttonsrtoys

A couple years ago a built an Asteroids clone using JS and Phaser on Cloud9 (c9.io). Was a great experience and a great way to learn JS. I'm now looking at a second game that I'd like to code with Typescript and distribute on the Android platform and possibly iOS. C9 has since been bought by Amazon and not supporting the C9 IDE as much. Regardless, it never supported breakpoints for JS, so had to debug using the Chome dev tools. 

My day job is coding C++ on visual studio. What's the best IDE for coding Typescript for Phaser? Ideally (for me) it would be close to Visual Studio experience (e.g., eclipse) but I'm up for something different. Mostly, I'd like to get away from the clunky C9 / Chome debugging.

Visual Studio Code looks awesome!! I'm going to take the plunge. For me, the least-fun part always is setting up the dev environment. I found a few links for setting up an environment with VSCode, Typescript, and Phaser:

http://www.html5gamedevs.com/topic/27418-visual-studio-code-intellisense-for-phaserjs/

https://divillysausages.com/2015/06/09/using-phaser-with-visual-studio-code/

https://medium.com/@fenixwu/intellisense-for-phaserjs-in-visual-studio-code-82052889c5f9

If you have any other advice to help me up the learning curve I'm all ears.

thats right if you use intellisense you should get authomatically the intellisense for phaser directly from the phaser typescript definitions. That is not the case if you use a javascript unfortunatly. So my extension is mainly for those people(me included).

PS: I am talking about intellsense of phaser not of typescript.( phaser method definitions, autocomplete, tooltips, etc).

And yes there are tons of extension for vscode and you should use them.

I recommend chrome debugger for vscode, html css formatter, vs icons, one dark pro theme.

I have a million others but they re not related to game development( angular and react snippets, python support, node run, etc)