Construct2 vs. GameMaker. Which one works better for Mobiles?

adiian

I'd like to know if someone knows how well each of them is working on mobiles. I have some experience using Construct 2 and I find it really, really nice for development. Until now, I was not very involved in using html5 on mobiles/tablets and recently I just made a few tests with Construct2 on a few devices. I found it quite slow for just moving a few sprites on the screen.

I'm just curious if someone can tell if this should be the expected behavior on mobiles for html5 or just construct2 is a little bit slow? Did anyone test both Game Maker and Construct 2 to make a comparison from the performance point of view on mobiles?

Which devices did you use for testing? Certain OS version are better at handling HTML5 than others. I have never used Construct 2 for mobile HTML5, but I have used GameMaker. Most GameMaker games run slowly on older OS versions, but some games do work fine. If you are going for a mobile approach, I would suggest not making high action games and being conscious of how much is going on in your game (memory usage, objects, etc).

I have to say I'm familiar to some degree with both Construct2 and Game Maker. I think both of them are great tools for developing quick games and prototypes. I tested 2 game prototypes built with Construct 2 on several devices, including some quad-core android devices and ios devices. The lowest perfomance-wise I tested on, is iPhone4 updated to ios7 and I was quite surprised to see that just moving 2-3 sprites is a little fragmented. I'm not sure if there is a problem on the specific phone I tested.

What I also noticed regarding Contruct2, the fragmentation tends not to be continuous(low fps), it just happens from a few frames to a few frames(like some sort of interruption).

I don't have a licence for game maker Html5 export tool, so this is why I'd like to know as many opinions as possible, especially from someone who tested both of them.