Benefits of programming without using a framework?

Peaverin

Hi. I'm new in the forum. I haven't seen any introduction section so I'll make a little introduction of myself here. I'm Albert and Im 17 years old, and I'm from Spain (so excuse me if my English isn't good at all). I learned javascript and html5 a year ago, and I started creating my first game from scratch about six months ago (I do it in free time), a platform one with even a level editor created by me. As it was my first experience, I decided to do it without using any framework so I could understand how everything works. Now that I'm about to finish I think this has been a very good experience, but I think it would have been a lot easier (and less time consuming, of course) with a framework. So my question goes here: Does programming without a framework gives any benefit or advantage? I don't think so, but I'm very new to this so maybe someone can surprise me.

Hi Albert. I'm one of the guys working on PlayCanvas, which is an engine rather than a framework really (although I won't get into definitions!). :)

There are, of course, a number of reasons why not using a framework may make sense to you:

• It is interesting, rewarding, challenging, etc
  • It gives you ultimate flexibility to solve the specific problems you face, often in a more optimal way. Most frameworks are written to handle generic situations.

At the same time, I think it's worth remembering the following:

• You are unlikely to be able to engineer something on the scale of most frameworks as an individual. For example, the PlayCanvas codebase has taken a number of engineers years to write, each with extremely advanced domain knowledge.
  • You miss out on cool stuff that other users of your chosen framework are doing. For example, if someone writes a cool graphical effect, you should be able to simply copy/paste it into your project.
  • You benefit from incremental performance updates.