Keep child's world position when parenting

Numa

Hi there, 

I'm working on a little project where I do a lot of parenting and swapping parents/children around, etc..

Is there an easy way to preserve a child's world position when changing its parent? I'm really new to Babylon so I don't always know what's available to me.

If this doesn't exist how would I go about it? Inverse the parent's world matrix and apply to it its child? If someone has an example handy I'd appreciate :)

Thanks!

• 2 weeks later...

2 questions on this:

1. Do I need to call updateWorldMatrix() after setting the parent or after setting the new position? on both child and parent?

2. What about rotation and scale? There is no getAbsoluteRotation() / Scaling

Is there an easy trick to only change the parenting without moving the object at all? Would multiplying the child's world matrix by the the inverted parent's world matrix do it?

Thanks! (also, a little bool to preserve original matrix or not when parenting would be great :D)

Yes I did and it didn't seem to work. I'm only asking for someone to confirm the theory here. If I tried it and it didn't work, does it mean my code is wrong? or is there a bug in Babylon? or is it not the way to go at all? :) 

I'm very new to Babylon and Coming from Unity I make a lot of assumptions about how things work :D And later realize I need to do some special handling when working at a lower level.

So, is that the way to go?

I'm looking into it, I think it'll work. I'm wondering why there is a getAbsolutePosition, but nothing for rotation and scale... instead I have to get the world matrix and decompose it because there is a getWorldMatrix but no setter, so I have to set each component manually.

I'll post updates later, I'm onto a different problem now :)