Connecting BabylonJS to NodeJS server through Socket.io

Abdullah

Hello Everyone, I hope you all are fine.. :)
Actually i am new to Babylon and creating my first game on it. I need help regarding the connection of BabylonJS with NodeJS server. 
Actually i want to receive some raw data from NodeJS server through Socket.io. And then i want to move my object according to that data. This data contains x,y,z coordinates. 

So kindly help me regarding this that how can i connect to server and receive data in a efficient manner. 

Any help will be appreciated.. :)

Hello,

I think that you have to do something like this in your server.js :

var app = require('express')();
var server = require('http').Server(app);
var io = require('socket.io')(server);

server.listen(80);

app.get('/', function (req, res) {
  res.sendfile(__dirname + '/index.html');
});

io.on('connection', function (socket) {

var vector = {x: 10, y: 0, z:0};

socket.emit('newPos', vector);
  socket.on('my other event', function (data) {
    console.log(data);
  });
});

And on your client :

<script src="/socket.io/socket.io.js"></script>
<script>
  var socket = io.connect();

// integrate babylon and create your scene with a mesh 

socket.on('newPos', function (data) {
    mesh.position = BABYLON.Vector3(data.x, data.y, data.z);

socket.emit('my other event', { my: 'data' });
  });

// you can use a Lerp function or something else to move depending on your need 

</script>

thanx @getzel ..... sorryy for replying very late... :P
your answer helped me and now i am able to receive data.... :)
and now i have another query for you.. 

Actually i am making a Table Tennis game and the working of the game is like i want to receive the readings of gyroscope from my mobile through socket.io(And this is done and i am receiving the data). now the problem is that the data is coming very fast like in nanoseconds. i have a confusion.

should i limit the data and apply simple rotation function on my racket...