[SOLVED] Collisions on scaled objects

digitspro

Hi there,

Just a short intro, big fan of BabylonJS library! It got me excited to work on a new project of mine which is my first game. Bear with me now please, as I am fairly new to it, although I'd say I have done my studies on your API and documentation, which looks very attractive.

The issue I am having is that when I scale objects bigger, collision goes wrong; Moving objects collide when they have already overlapped. What I expect is that the collision happens as soon as any face of a bounding box touches any face of the other bounding box

The more I scale my objects, the worse things look.

Please take a look at this playground which is hopefully self explanatory:

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#10IKS#1

Further worse, uncomment line 29 which scales the ball bigger and see the obvious overlap with the wall.

I messed with the methods and properties in the BoundingInfo but nothing helped. It does not look to me that the BoundingInfo is missing something anyway; as you can see, showBoundingBox = true (i.e. the wireframe) reveals nothing unexpected to my eyes. It's the whatever shape/thing that is used to calculate collision is what seems wrong and does not seem to update with the scaled ball. Shouldn't it?

Hello you are using collisions engine here and not physics so no need to setup physics info

Collisions engine is a lightweight system that does not support all the feature of the physics engine and which is basically doing collisions between ellipsoids and meshes.

In your case as you want to move the sphere, you need to update its ellipsoid:

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#10IKS#3

Yep.  :)  And line 47 scene.enablePhysics(); is NOT required... for this.  Welcome to the forum, DigitsPro!  Thanks for the nice playground demos, guys.  Good collision testing without a physics engine.