Question about websockets

jcarlos17

Hi. It is my first post in the forum. I was looking for a specific category for server-side topic, but found nothing related.

I have some experience using PHP with Laravel to create web applications (even I have created some SPAs with Ajax calls),

but now I see that Node.JS is the better choice to create multiplayer games (because it provides a realtime interaction between server and connected users).

Some days ago I found Firebase and was using it for a bit. I see that the realtime database is really easy to use. The only bad thing is that the validation rules in firebase are strange. We have to validate defining a JSON with the rules.

But in general, we can use the realtime feature very easy. We don't need to configure servers with Node.js or socket.io

My question is, why nobody is using Firebase? When I look for realtime games, always see people using Node.js and Socket.io (I haven't used it yet but I think that Firebase = Node.js + Socket.io + MongoDB + the necessary steps to set up all of this).

Thank you.

59 minutes ago, rgk said:

For an easy answer, node.js and a websocket server (aka socket.io or ws) etc... is more configurable, and more control.

Do you use Node.js with MongoDB for develop multiplayer games?

In Firebase the data has to be denormalized, and usually is necessary to update in multiple locations when some data changes. That may produce inconsistencies.

I have read that MySQL without FKs is also a good option, even in some times it can be better than MongoDB in performance.

MongoDB is generally dreadful for performance, but, its used incorrectly a lot of the time.

However, Mongo was created with Node in mind as a primary consumer, it has excellent integrations with node and there are many many modules available to help with almost any scenario.