Shader for subtle rounded edges to catch the light?

inteja

Just wondering if anyone knows of a way in Babylon.js to round sharp edges and corners WITHOUT adding geometric detail OR normal maps to models. There are no perfectly sharp edges in reality and especially architectural scenes can benefit if every edge has a subtle rounded chamfer to catch the light. I've heard that this can be done in a post process shader but it's computationally intensive and requires deferred rendering which BJS doesn't have.

Anyone know anything about how this might be achieved in Babylon.js?

Hello @inteja

i looking since few weeks for exotic rendering methods to implement in Babylonjs. I have a To Do List, but i'm also a beginner, so it can take a while 'til a real pull request. I can do a version for me and maybe you, unofficial, i really dont have much time for bugreport for all the kidz on this planet.

Primarily i'm into architectural visualizations.  

*....and requires deferred rendering"
I was looking many times for a deferred rendering, can you provide a link to a document?

I think you might thinking of this article
http://http.developer.nvidia.com/GPUGems2/gpugems2_chapter09.html

deferred render was implemented in three.js five years ago, but then they decided to discontinue it, the guy who implemented it, is lately again active, but only becourse of webgl 2.0

It is an expensive computation, that requires some advanced operations on the GPU side, i dont think you can make simple Stalker reboot.

Here is a quick sketch about blur on edges, nothing serious just something to think about

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#TYAHX#73

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#TYAHX#74

@Nabroski thanks for the reply and links.