How to make a Time-based (?) game like farm simulator games

rolzan

Hello!

I'm new to game development and I wanted to make a time-based game, I don't know if that's the right term, but it works something like how farm simulator games work, where the player plants a seed, then wait long periods of time for the seed to grow. That means, the player is able to close the game, and after a period of time (enough time to grow the seed), opens the game, and they'll see the seed grew into a plant.

I don't know what framework is best for these type of games, but for now, I'm planning to make it as a text based game, build it like a website (HTML, CSS, PHP, & JS), then host it on my web host, so my table-top-gamer friends would be able to play it anywhere.

Basically, my plan is to make something like a multiplayer Risk game, where 2 teams fight each other, and each team consists of 3 players. They are able to gather resources so they could build their army, and then move their army around a grid based map (like chess: "move pawn to D7"), until they are able to destroy or conquer their enemy's castle.

The game revolves around the time system since all actions require time (training of units, building of defenses, moving a number of units to a location, etc).

Any advice is appreciated :)

P.S. I'm a web developer, this may sound stupid, but I'm planning to make the game on WordPress, I just need to figure out on how to make the time system lol

Yeah, it does stupid :) ha ha, I'm joking, but it is weird, why would you do that? Sounds like a predominantly client-side affair to me, probably backed with a couple of backend services to manage the multiplayer aspect and possibly some other stuff. Wordpress sounds wholly inappropriate for that use-case.

I'm a little confused by your concept, is it a turn-based game or real-time? i.e. if I play longer than other peeps will I be at a huge advantage as I get more done?